top of page

Set Simulate Physics with Trigger

Today I had a go at Set Simulate Physics with trigger in UE4.

First I placed a trigger box into the viewport editor.

Then I opened the level blueprint and added the red node 'Add on Actor Begin Overlap'

Then I placed a static mesh into the viewport editor. Here I am using this chair, just while I am learning this process.

Then I opened the level blueprint - looking for the one for this level under sub-levels. I right clicked and added the red node for 'Add on Actor Begin Overlap'. I attached this to a blue node 'Set Simulate Physics'.

However, at this point I ran into some problems. An error appeared on the 'Set Simulate Physics' node and I couldn't find the Target 'static mesh component' node. At this point I need to go back over what I have already done to work out what the problem is and rectify it.

The reason the error message was appearing was simply because I didn't have the box trigger selected. After doing this the problem was easy to rectify and carry on with the process.

Another issue I came across was that I didn't initially realise that the 'Target Static Mesh' node appear by itself when attaching 'Set Simulate Physics' to 'SM_Chair' . But after going back through the process I was able to complete the pathway.

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.

Tip: Press on any item to see the full post.

bottom of page