top of page

Evaluation

In Unit 76, I aimed to create concept images to represent the beginning, middle and end of a level. I set out to learn how to work with technical constraints, apply narrative and aesthetic approaches to level design, develop on my skills in design and develop the skill of balancing dynamic elements with negative space in the environment. To demonstrate this, I was to take my own ideas through this process and create design 3 images showing the beginning, middle and end (boss level) of a level idea. This project was useful as I learnt new ways of creating concept art - I am used to drawing concept art so creating concept art through splicing images together in photoshop was new to me.

I enjoyed working on this unit and experimenting with photoshop - learning how to use various tools and adding together different images. I used the stamp tool a lot in this assignment - something I hadn't use very much before. I experimented with the burn and dodge tools, though I didn't end up using them very much for the final result. It sometimes took me a long time to find an image that had the right colours/angles/materials/shade/style that I wanted to add to the image. In an industry setting, if this was just to throw together something quickly to give an idea of what the level would look like, I maybe wouldn't be as picky about the images.

I found adding lighting to the images a lot harder than I expected - I found that using the burn and dodge tools gave results too extreme, and found that while adding layers with low opacity to add shade or highlights was a much more subtle technique, it took some of the detail away from the image and made it seem misty.

Overall, I enjoyed this assignment but think the final results don't look that professional. As people have said in my peer review, I think I need to learn how to blend the different images together better, and to make the lighting look more natural. However, I am happy that the images represent the type of aesthetic that I wanted the level to have, and had all the elements that I had planned for that level.

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.

Tip: Press on any item to see the full post.

bottom of page