top of page

Creating a Timeline Node (Attempt 1)


Today I tried to activate my first timeline node and create a Vector Lift. To start with I created a Blueprint Class Actor and opened the Viewport tab. I created a static mesh and linked it to a cube shape. I made it into the desired size and named it 'Vector Lift'.

In the Event graph I dragged a pathway from the red node 'Event Tick' and created a yellow timeline node. To this I attached a 'SetRelativeLocation' node with Static Mesh as the target.

I double clicked on the timeline node to open the Timeline Template. I clicked on V+ to open a Vector parameter. I named the timeline template 'TimelineTemplate1' and set the total length of the timeline as 20secs. I ticked the loop attribute so that it would loop the process. I locked the X and Y axis as the Z axis is the only one that I wanted to manipulate.

I set keyframes at different points in the timeline and manipulated the Z axis so that it would go up and back down again within the timeframe. I went back to the level viewport and dragged the static mesh into the level. I then tested the process. I didn't work so I deleted it and started again.

This time when creating the static mesh, I chose the cube shape from the details panel on the right of the screen instead of adding it as a new component.

I added the same psedocode in. I want to whether other things I've done are the reason it wasn't working before trying to change the code. This means that every time I try and solve the problem, I can change one variable; if that doesn't work I will change a different variable next time, and so on.

I added the values in for the z axis, dragged the static mesh into the level viewport and tested again. Once again it didn't work. I am going to research this more and work out what I am doing wrong before trying again.

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.

Tip: Press on any item to see the full post.

bottom of page