top of page

Horror Game: Blocking Out My Level

Using the layout I created in my Horror Game Floor Plan, I blocked out the rooms for the level. I created 2 rooms and a corridor, and then added basic cubes and spheres where the items will go.

This is the complete blocked out level:

This is 'bedroom' area blocked out. This is where I am going to have the player start and spawn. The blocks in the room represent: Table, Chair, Posters, Map, Paperwork, Bunk Bed, Cabinet, Lockers and Lights.

This is the 'second room' of the level blocked out. The blocks in this room represent: Radio, communications system, lamps, posters and a generator. This rooms looks a bit empty like this though, so I might add more into it later.

This is the 'corridor' of the level blocked out. This is going to be the final part of the game where the character will complete the final puzzle and exit. The only thing in here will be the Water system and the exit.

Most Game Devs block out their levels as part of the creative process. It is useful for a couple of reasons. It means you can start creating the level and working on the game physics before adding in the actual models. Any part of the gameplay that is the character interacting with a model or their environment should still work with basic shapes. It also helps give a sense of scale and is useful for working out how big/small each area will feel with the item models added. An example of how it has been useful to me for this reason is how in my floor plan, the 'main room/room 2' looked ok, but once I blocked it out I have released that the room looks a bit too empty. When creating the floor plan I probably drew the items in the room too big, but since blocking the room out, I now know that I should either make the room smaller or add more items.

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.

Tip: Press on any item to see the full post.

bottom of page