top of page

Horror Game: Creating a Slippery Surface

In my game I wanted the water to be a slippery surface.

I started with created a small puddle on the floor. I created 2 flat cylinders on the floor and added water as the material.

Then I placed a trigger box that covered the area of the puddles.

This is the code I added into the character blueprint. I created 2 custom events: normal walking and water walking. With 'Character Movement' set as the target, I changed the friction and brake deceleration so that when 'Normal Walking' both speed friction and braking deceleration were at normal levels but were increased when 'Water Walking'

This is the code that I added into the level blueprint. This code tells the game that when the character walks into the trigger box area that the parameters set out in the character blueprint under 'Water Walking' should be activated and that 'Normal Walking' should be activated when the character walks out of the trigger box area.

I created the small puddle area to test out creating a slippery surface but the main area I want to do this for is much bigger. I created a new area of water, by the ring puzzle area. I only want the water to be slippery, not the platform, so I used 2 trigger boxes to cover the water area. I then proceeded to add the code for each trigger box, linking it to 'water walking' and 'normal walking' like I had before.

I tested it and as you can see from the screenshot below, I worked correctly - the pathways for 'water walking' lit up when my character ran through the water area.

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.

Tip: Press on any item to see the full post.

bottom of page