top of page

Horror Game: Creating Puzzle A

To make 'Death Bunker' a game rather than a simulation I need to add some puzzles or some tasks for the player to complete.

While making 'Death Bunker' I have realised that the puzzles that I had orginally thought of are too complicated for me to be able to create right now. So I needed to think of some different puzzles that I will be able to create.

So the first puzzle I have come up with is to open the first door.

Originally I had simulate physics set on the cube so that it would move if bumped into, and I also had a box trigger that opened the door if the player went close to it. As the first puzzle, I have moved the cube to a less obvious place in the room and closer to the door. I have moved both box triggers (the one for simulate physics and the one that sets of the matinee opening the door) so that they cover the area of the cube.

So the player needs to knock over the cube in order to open the door.

Its a very easy puzzle, but I think that is ok as it is the first thing in the game.

As a tutorial to help the player know where to go / what to interact with, I have added the material 'M_Tech_Hex_Tile' on to important objects. This material stands out and glows so it makes it obvious to the player that this is something they should interact with.

Here is the door opening when the player moves the cube:

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.

Tip: Press on any item to see the full post.

bottom of page