top of page

Games I will write about

After going through games that I have played through and creating a mind map and highlighting the most important / influential games for them, I now want to get the list down to around 5 main games. Ideally I want to talk about games from different generations, platforms and eras, so I can compare and contrast them.

Here is the full list of videogames that have been important to me:

- Lemmings

- Myst

- Simon The Sorcerer

- Secret of Monkey Island 1 + 2

- Psychonauts

- Plants Vs Zombies

- Limbo

- Bit.Trip Runner

- Amnesia: The Dark Descent

- Atom Zombie Smasher

- Alice Madness Returns

- Thomas Was Alone

- Undertale

- Huniepop

- Portal

- Mirrors Edge

- Catherine

- The Last of Us

- Rockband

- Super Mario 64

- Mario Kart 64

-Banjo-Kazooie

-F Zero X

-1080 Snowboarding

- Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time

- Paper Mario

- Pokemon Stadium

- Pokemon Red / Blue

- Dragon Warrior Monster

- Advance Wars

- Another Code Two Memories

- Professor Layton

- Super Smash Brothers Melee

- Darkened Skye

- SSX 3

- The Sims

- Skies of Arcadia

- Spyro: Enter the Dragonfly

- Tales of Symphonia

- Sonic Adventure 2

- Guitar Hero

- Wii Fit

- Just Dance

- Silent Hill Shattered Memories

- Pandora's Tower

Obviously this list is far too big and I will have to cut it down a considerable amount.

I think it is best for me to start with games I am definitely going to talk about:

Lemmings was the very first game I ever played, so that will be important in terms of talking about how I got into gaming at an early age and my first experience of gaming.

Tales of Symphonia is my favourite game, so I will probably be talking about that a lot and how it influenced me, and as the first rpg that I had played with so much story that resonated with me. I can also talk about the real-time battle system and co-op gameplay.

F Zero X / Pokemon Stadium / Mario Kart make sense for me to talk about as I can talk about local multiplayer and how that shaped my childhood and early friendship group.

N64 was my first console and had a huge influence on me, so I will want to talk about that and one of the first games I played, like Mario 64 or Banjo-Kazooie

I could talk about the resurgence of old games - reboots, remakes, higher def re-releases. As I played Monkey Island as a kid, then the special edition with updated graphics, controls and voice narration last year, that would be a good game to talk about.

As a fan of indie games, I could talk about steam and the boom in the market for indie games. I can talk about my favourite indie game, Atom Zombie Smasher and the success of games like Fez, Limbo or Undertale.

Handheld consoles such as the game boy colour and the ds have been a big part of my gaming experience so I would like to talk about my favourite games from handheld consoles like Dragon Warrior Monster, Pokemon Red, Another Code and Professor Layton. I can talk about Pokemania, and also about the differences in popularity of dragon warrior in Japan and the west.

I could talk about the rise and fall of rhythm games, talking about DDR in the arcade, to guitar hero and rockband to Just dance and newer things like rocksmith.

In all honesty, I will probably be talking about most of these, if not all of them, in passing but the games that I want to concentrate on and talk about in detail are:

- Lemmings

- Mario Kart

- F Zero X

- Mario 64

- Tales of Symphonia

- Pokemon

- Rockband

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.

Tip: Press on any item to see the full post.

bottom of page