top of page

Detailed Essay Plan

This is a more detailed essay plan, with exact topics and some ideas, statistics, words and phrases I want to use in each section, written here so I don't forget them when it comes to writing that section.

 

Introduction (100 - 500 words)

- Start with a descriptive first sentence to grab the reader's attention. A detailed memory of playing a game, and how the game made me feel would be a good one. Or maybe me telling my parents I wanted to work for Nintendo at 7 years old.

- Follow this with how this memory is specific to me, many other people my age will have very similar memories and/or ambitions, and how video games have really carved a place for themselves in modern culture. Talk about how much games have effected current culture and how it combines a huge mix of art, technology and storytelling to create something completely unique.

- This essay will take you through my journey of gaming and the specific games that had an effect on my gaming experience.

- Talk about the how video games began (and how there is some different opinions on who actually started it all)

- Brief history on how games got to where they are now

- Some stats, quotes and comparisons

- End by introducing the next section - my personal introduction into games and how they became such a significant part of my life.

 

My first experiences in gaming (500 words)

- Talk about how my dad set up learning games on a dos computer when I was a toddler, and the very vague memories I have of that

- The first game I really remember playing is Lemmings on PC

- Explain how lemmings works, why I liked it, the memories I have of it

- My first experience with puzzle / strategy games that would shape the games I would pick in the future

- My first console

- N64

- Super Mario 64

- F Zero X

- Local Multiplayer

- First Handheld console

-Gameboy Colour

- Pokemon / Dragon Warrior monster

 

GameCube / Tales of Symphonia (1000 words)

- Why I liked the gamecube

- Tales of Symphonia

- Battle System

- Choices

- Moral Questions

- Role Models

- Fantastic score

- Multiplayer

- Being able to change character

 

Conclusion (100 - 500 words)

- Talk about how my gaming experience has shaped who I am as a person. How it has affected almost everything about me - my taste in art, music, my personal morals and beliefs and how I interact with people.

- Video games allow us to have experiences and emotions that we might not of had or be able to have in normal life. It gives us a wider range of experiences and is constantly giving us ways to have a deeper understanding of ourselves and the people around us. It puts us in other people's shoes and helps us understand why people act the way they do or why they make the decisions they do - while also showing us that we have the choice to make our own destiny. Games teach us how to fail and that sometimes it can take a lot of time, effort and frustration, but if you keep trying, you can get better and eventually you can make it.

- Inspirational quote by important game person

 

References

Indie Game The Movie

VideoGames The movie

https://www.fastcompany.com/1752592/brief-history-video-games

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.

Tip: Press on any item to see the full post.

bottom of page