top of page

First / Third Person Camera Toggle

The first camera setting I wanted to set up in my level is a toggle between the first and third person view. I am creating the level as a third person game, but creating a toggle means that it is up to the player whether they want to use first or third person cameras.

I polled 590 people to find out what type of perspective they prefer in games. The overwhelming majority was both first person and third person, with 338 votes. I asked people to elaborate their reasoning in the comments and most people said they preferred games that gave them the option to choose. While this is not a professional survey, I feel like the sample size is large enough to take this as a truth, at least for a small subset of gamers.

For this reason, it looks like having a toggle between 1st and 3rd person is important in modern gaming, as long as it fits with how the game is meant to play / look.

Above is the code I used to create a 1st / 3rd person toggle. I added the code to the character blueprint so that this camera option would always be available when using this character, and wouldn't change depending on the level. I used the command 't' on the keyboard to toggle to and from the first to third person camera.

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.

Tip: Press on any item to see the full post.

bottom of page