top of page

Project Opening as Wireframe Only

AddOtherPicsOfIssueAndFixHere

As re-adding the material onto my model every time it does this adds to the time it gets to set up and get started on my model and takes away from the time I an actually spend working on my model, I am looking at saving it in different ways so that it loads both the mesh and the material.

It looks like one of the ways to do this is to use 'export' rather than 'save as'. This was I can export it as an FBX file, which means it should open both the mesh and material when opened.

Selecting embed media before exporting makes sure that it will export the material, not just the mesh.

I am exporting the model twice, once in Binary and once in ASCII.

Binary is the main one I will be using. It runs quicker in maya and is smaller file size.

I am also saving one as ASCII because even though it isn't as efficient - it takes longer to load and is a bigger file size; it will open on different computers, different versions of software and opens in more different types of software than binary files. It is good to save a version of the model is ASCII as a back-up in case I ever run into any problems with the binary file.

To open a FBX model in maya, i can just select it from the file and drag it into the maya viewport.

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.

Tip: Press on any item to see the full post.

bottom of page