top of page

Separating Kit's Fingers


My next job is to separate Kits fingers and adjust her thumbs to make a better hand shape. It's important to separate her fingers so that all the faces of her fingers are able to be selected for UVing, texturing and colouring.

First, I am going to turn on symmetry so that I only have to do this for one hand and the symmetry tool will make sure it is done for both. After mirroring half of kit earlier and fixing the topology, both sides are symmetrical and I am able to use this tool.

degdfg

After separating the fingers and deleting the thumb so I could make a better thumb. Maya crashed so I had to restart it.

After restarting the computer and re-opening my project in Maya, it only loaded the wireframe. I think this is because it only saves the wireframe of the model and not the material.

However, I have found that sometimes when I open my project it opens with material and some times without.

There are icons to change the view between mesh and wireframe - however when these are pressed in this circumstance, nothing changes.

I have encountered this problem a few times before and I have found the best way to remedy it is just to re-assign material to the model.

To do this, I choose the icon I have highlighted to open Hypershade.

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.

Tip: Press on any item to see the full post.

bottom of page