top of page

Setting Idle and Run Animations

I needed to add the idle and run animations to the character in order for her to react appropriately in game (idle when they character is stood still and run when the player moves the character). To do this, I opened a new blend space for my character, BadassB. After opening the Blend Space I dragged the Idle animation over to the far left point and the run animation over to the far right point.

Doing this ensures that BadassB will stay in her Idle animation until movement is pressed by the player, which is when it will change into the run animation.

Above are my screenshots on how I added the code for the run and idle animations. The way I have done it here is meant to help smooth the transition between idle and run, so it doesn't look so sudden and jerky. However, in practice, the idle animation worked but far too much force was needed to make the character run.

This could have been rectified by tweaking the variable; however I decided the pay off wasn't worth it as the tiny change in smoothing the transition would be hardly noticable. I decided to change the code to something much simpler, as this would definitely work and had less issues.

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.

Tip: Press on any item to see the full post.

bottom of page