top of page

Creating 1st Person / 3rd Person Camera Toggle

The first camera change I wanted to set up was a 1st / 3rd person camera toggle. This way, it's the players choice whether to use the first or third person view, and they can change between the two to use what is more useful to them during the level.

I went into the character viewport and created another camera that I named '1stPersonCam' . I positioned the camera so that it was seeing through the character's head.

To start with I tried setting up the camera toggle with this code. However, I found that this method didn't work when tested so I found a different method and tried that.

This is the set of code I ended up with and with this code the player was able to toggle between 1st and 3rd person by pressing 'T' when tested.

3rd Person view:

1st Person view:

These screenshots are what the player sees in the first and third person views in my level.

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.

Tip: Press on any item to see the full post.

bottom of page