top of page

Creating Interactive Menu Element

To start with In my I created the shield shape that I want to be the interactive 3D element in my menu. I then exported this as on OBJ to add to my menu scene in Unreal. I scaled and rotated it to how I wanted it.

I then created the code to make the shield spin slowly in place.

I made an OnClicked event for the shield. I want it to spin faster when the player clicks the shield.

However, when tested, the shield doesn't spin faster when clicked and in fact changes position. I tested this by changing the X, Y and Z variables, but it did this every time regardless.

I looked into what was causing this problem and found that it was a problem that was created when I was exporting the model from Maya. To fix this, I need to export it as a .FBX and the when importing in Unreal, go into the settings when exporting and untick [convert scene].

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.

Tip: Press on any item to see the full post.

bottom of page