top of page

Ideas Mindmap - Week 2

Today I am coming up with my initial project idea. I am currently creating a mind map as part of my decision process.

I feel a bit overwhelmed with choice so I am trying to narrow down my ideas. Two of the types of projects I am most interested in making are creating a playable level or creating an animated sequence.

Creating levels in Unreal is something that we have done a few times in this course, so if I chose this type of project , I would already have skills in this area and would be able to develop them further, while creating a more full and detailed level than I have before. If I chose to create a playable level, I would put more thought into creating puzzles and objectives for the player than I have previously.

Creating a 3D animated sequence is also something I am interested in. We have only done a small amount of animation on the course so far, so if I chose this type of project, it would be challenging and I would be learning new skills along the way, as well as developing ones I already have. I could creating the opening animated sequence for Taking Back Okolina, or one of the cutscenes in the game. Alternatively, I could take a scene from a film or video and try to replicate it as a 3D animated sequence.

However, as creating the characters would possibly also be part of the process of creating a 3D animated sequence and it would take me extra time to learn new tools, I think I would struggle to finish this in the allocated time, but I might make this a project that I create in my free time as I am interested in learning more about the animation process.

I think for this unit, I will create a playable level. My game idea is of a platformer/rpg that has each level as a different city, so it would make sense for me to create one of the cities for my game. The cities that I have put on the mindmap are Dawl, Meldonis and Okolina. Dawl is the first city in the game - this would be a good one for me to create as it would introduce people to the game, I could create a tutorial.

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.

Tip: Press on any item to see the full post.

bottom of page