top of page

Middle Concept Piece


This is the block out that I will start with for the Middle Concept piece. This area is on top of the hill, and is a battle area.

I have replaced all the cylinders with trees and added background trees too. I was happy with how the hill / battle ground looked already, so I have done minimal changes to it. I got rid of the obvious line that was running across it and tried to make the ground look a bit more worn. I originally was going to add the tree houses to the view of this image, however, I thought about what you actually see from this angle, and I think you are more likely to see the tops of those trees than the tree houses that are below the hill. I have added some tree tops that are just a bit higher than the ground on the top of the hill. I wanted one tree to be on top of the hill, and after trying out different ones, I have decided to go with one without leaves to make this part look more desolate and in contrast with the rest of Okolina.

I wanted to add lighting to the image. I have created shadows for the trees and brightened the areas where the sun would hit. I want it to look like the light is coming from the top right of the image, so that is where I have tried to create a lighter area. I have created various layers and added masks of different shades to create the shadows and highlights. It is harder than I expected it to be to make the light source clear and consistent. As well as shadows on the battle ground, I tried to create the impression that the ground has been worn down where previous fights and scuffles have happened.

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.

Tip: Press on any item to see the full post.

bottom of page