top of page

Joint Animation


This is my first time using bone animation. I tried to make a robot arm, like the ones that would be used in factories to create cars. I first created the 3d model of the robot arm and then followed a tutorial to add the pivot points and the bones.

However, I have found that when I try to move the bones for the animation, it distorts the model in ways that aren't wanted in the animation. Instead of just moving the asset from the points specified, it changes the scale of pieces of the model, stretches them, and disconnects previously connected pieces.

I am going to research and find out why this happens. In the meantime, I am going to try and work on a bone animation on a simpler model - I think I was perhaps being too ambitious by trying a robot arm as my first ever bone animation.

This is the type of robot arm I was going for, but a much more basic version.

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.

Tip: Press on any item to see the full post.

bottom of page