top of page

Lift Animation

I have made a lift which has multiple animations. There are bone animations of the button being pushed and then the doors opening and closing.

I made the lift with the button and the doors as separate pieces to the main part of the lift, to make those pieces easier to animate. I first animated the button to push in and back out again. Then when I was animating the doors, I made sure that the door movement was later in the timeline than the button press, so that the button press will be first.

To make the doors open, I made sure the doors were small enough so that when they were opened (and therefore moved into the sides of the lift) they would fit nicely and wouldn't go past the sides of the lift. While this is something that would have to be considered too when making a real lift, it isn't something I had thought about before. I have found through making these animations that I have had to think of how things work and the specific movements of things that I haven't given much thought to before.

I made the doors open slowly and then close a bit quicker, because this is something that I have noticed in real lifts.

This is a video of my lift animation.

I am pleased with the lift and I will use it in my game. I found it easier to make an asset with multiple animations than I was expecting, I think in the future I will be able to make assets with even more animations and I will be able to make my assets more complex.

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.

Tip: Press on any item to see the full post.

bottom of page