top of page

Evaluation

In Unit 52, I aimed to learn the development process for generating, designing and implementing ideas in games. I set out to understand the processes of ideas generation and implementation, identify the cultural contexts in which my ideas work and be able to complete a prototype character. To demonstrate this, I was to create a main character and enemy NPC with a variety of animations, including attacks and special attacks in a battle arena style game setting.

This project was useful as I learnt many new skills that I can develop more and take into the games industry, however I did struggle with this unit, as I felt like I was doing things right, but when it came to testing them, they didn't work. I understand animation montages well and creating animation notifiers, but I found some of the blueprint work confusing. I found it difficult to get some effects to work - like the FOV change and projectile, and I also don't think my collision works correctly. I think I have the ability to understand it and get it to work, but I think it would take me more time than most people and I would have to spend a lot more time working on improving my skills, problem solving and learning. I think my skills are more suited to earlier parts of game production / the more art heavy parts such as character design, creating environments and creating the actual animations themselves (rather than the implementation of them within the game).

Overall, I feel like I tried hard with this unit but ultimately it didn't turn out very good. I feel like if I did it again, I would be able to do a better job but still think I would struggle with it. I think the only way for me to improve in this area is to spend more time on UE4 and getting used to new things.

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.

Tip: Press on any item to see the full post.

bottom of page