top of page

Character Animation 2: Caramelldansen

For my 2nd character body animation I wanted to try and create the dance from Caramelldansen.

Caramelldansen was a popular internet craze when I was growing up and I thought it would be fun to try and recreate that using the Jack Howard character model.

Here is the video of Caramelldansen and the movements that I will be trying to create:

I will just be making the basic movements from the chorus, so this includes making the bunny ears with the hands and arms, the hip movements and slight jumping.

I decided to start with his arms moving up into position and then go into the dance. I found animating the arms and hands easy enough, but the feet, legs and hips were more difficult. The feet keep slipping around and the only thing I could find online about making them stay still was to re-rig the character model. I didn't have enough time to do create a new rig, but in the future I will look into how to create a rig where I can lock the feet into position. \

To create the body movement, I moved the hips from side to side to each beat, and then added a keyframe inbetween each beat of him stood upright. I think this would have looked ok if I could have got the feet to stay in place, but because the feet slide and move, it looks messy.

Finished animation:

I think this was a fun animation to make but it looks a bit messy.

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.

Tip: Press on any item to see the full post.

bottom of page