top of page

Character Animation 3: Stage Bow

For my 3rd animation, I wanted to create a stage bow.

I tried to find a video reference for the bow, but I couldn't find a video of the type of bow that I wanted to animate, so I practiced bowing myself and paid attention to the details of the movement, such as when each arm moves, which way my forearm or hand are facing, etc and tried to create the animation based on that rather than a reference video.

In this animation I tried to pay attention to the 12 principals of animation and pay attention to and include them in my animation. I feel like for the previous animations, I because it was my first attempts at body animation, I had been paying more attention to the movement itself than the parts that go with the movement and make it look better.

I feel like I successfully showed instances of anticipation, follow through and overlapping motion, arc and secondary action in this animation. I made sure to pay add small movements before and after each main movement so it should look more fluid.

Final animation (turn sound on for this video):

I think this is my best animation so far and I am very proud of it. However, the timing is still too slow in some parts and it makes the movement still look quite robotic. I am happy that my animations are improving with each one and feel that with some more practice I will be able to create entertaining and fluid animations.

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.

Tip: Press on any item to see the full post.

bottom of page