top of page

Creating the tram benches

I am creating long benches for the tram, using this picture for inspiration.

The benches will go along the sides of the tram, allowing standing room as well. I was originally going to have the benches made from metal but I think wooden ones would look better.

I've started by making the base of the bench. I added edges and increased the scale to create the extra area at the bottom. I am just making one of the bases and then will duplicate them to as many as I need.

Next I have created one of the wood planks. I just made a cube into a plank shaped and resized it until I was happy with it. I am going to duplicate this plank as many times as I need to make the main part of the bench.

To stop the planks going rounded once the model is smoothed, I was going to use multi-cut to add edge loops, however, I tried using the bevel tool and I think the planks look a lot more realistic with them beveled.

After placing the planks where I want them, I have created the back base for the bench. I extended the bottom base further back and then added columns that go down into the bottom bases to hold the back of the bench up. I included a small diagonal pole between each base and column to support the bench curve.

I added a top support and one of the base/column parings in the centre as well.

I am happy with how the model looks. After using this bench for a high to low poly bake, I will duplicate it so I have enough benches for the inside of the tram.

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.

Tip: Press on any item to see the full post.

bottom of page