top of page

Learning Sculpting Tools in Maya

Today I was learning how to use the sculpting tools in Maya.

I started by changing the grid size - I did this by following the path: Display > Grid and changing the settings to:

Length + Width: 1000, 0000

Grid Lines Every: 10, 0000

Subdivisions: 1

This changes the grid to the same dimensions as Unreal and Unity.

I added a cube into the viewport and pressed 3 to smooth it and make it into kind of a sphere shape. From there I went to Modify > Convert > Smooth Mesh Preview to Polygons

From there I used a variety of the tools in the sculpting menu to create a cartoony character head.

Main tools I used were Sculpt, Smooth and buldge to create my goblin head.

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.

Tip: Press on any item to see the full post.

bottom of page