top of page

Maya 3D Modelling Practice (Colette)

3D Modelling in Maya is by far my weakest subject in the course so far. To try and improve this I am going to be following online tutorials and be trying to replicate some of my favourite game characters in order to practice and get more used to the program.

The first tutorial I am going to be trying to follow is : https://youtu.be/spi4lGxnMZg Maya bodybuilder CHARACTER MODELING tutorial

This tutorial starts with a cylinder. Even though I know that I will always be using cubes for making game characters, I am going to use a cylinder for this practice - the purpose of following this tutorial is to become more comfortable using maya as a program - not to make an animateable character.

However, instead of using the character model used in the tutorial, I am going to use the character reference material for the character of Colette from my favourite game, Tales of Symphonia. Colette in the game is a 3D manga character - similar to Kit in my game, so I thought this would be a good place to start.

Unfortunately I couldn't find her in a T pose but I am using the front and side images as reference material and am going to create the model as if both her arm are down by her side like her right arm.

I already feel like I have improved just by spending more time getting used to the program and tools. I had already made a 'Maya Tips and Tricks' document, but I've added to it a lot today as I have learnt stuff - hopefully it will help me get back into using the program quicker next time.

I've made the body shape of her jacket and created one of her sleeves as well. I think my Maya work is already looking a lot better, as if I keep practicing I should get it.

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.

Tip: Press on any item to see the full post.

bottom of page