top of page

Lantern moving in the wind animation

I made a 3d model of a lantern. Its loosely based on the look of the lantern from 'Spirited Away'.

I learnt a new technique while making this model. I used the curve tool to create the smooth curve for the lantern's pole. This is something I didn't know I could do and it is a really useful technique that I definitely think I will use again in the future.

I really like the design of the lantern in Spirited Away, so I based my model off this. The lantern in Spirited Away is a magical creature who walks and jumps around, but I wanted mine to be an ordinary lantern, just a similar style. So as you can see when comparing my lantern to the one from spirited away, you can see that I have replaced the foot that appears at the base of the lantern in the Spirited Away with a normal lantern base.

I made the lantern swing gently in the wind. I did this by making a bone from where the lantern attaches to the pole, through the lantern. I then moved in side to side, starting with a large angle and a long amount of time in between each animation key, with the angles and the duration between keys getting smaller and smaller, as the momentum slows down and brings the lantern to a stop.

This is a video of the Lantern swinging animation.

I am very proud of both the model and the animation. The lantern turned out exactly how I wanted it and I feel like the unusual looking pole, and the detail that I put into the lantern itself gives it personality. I think the animation looks natural and smooth. This animation will fit perfectly into my game and I am very happy with it.

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.

Tip: Press on any item to see the full post.

bottom of page